What I’m Reading

22 Mar

Over my now all-but-forgotten Spring Break, I did a little reading.

You Had Me at Woof by Julie Klam  Adventures in Boston Terrier rescue by a New Yorker and her endearingly game husband.  That one was fun, and made me feel not so alone in the universe.  Other people are in over their heads in dogs, too.  And they live in Manhattan apartments.  So there.  Clever, funny, and very relatable (for me.  Maybe not so much you).

Letters to Malcolm, chiefly on prayer by C.S. Lewis  This is a thin little set of correspondence from Lewis to his friend Malcolm Somebody.  People used to just write the most beautiful letters, and these two had agreed on a format and a theme, so it is a carefully thought-out dialogue about prayer.  Because the letters are between friends, there are beautiful, personal and irreverent moments.  A lovely little book.

The Reason for God by Tim Keller  Keller is the founder and minister of Redeemer Church in New York City.  (He wrote another book I really enjoyed called The Prodigal God, which focuses on the parable of the prodigal son and manages to cast aspersion on the elder brother for his holier-than-thou attitude, an interesting twist on the gospel.)  This book is Mere Christianity for our time, but no one can top that CS Lewis for his beautiful prose.  This is an exhaustive answer to the common arguments against Orthodox Christianity.  Keller is gentle and understanding of doubts, but devoted to Biblical literacy and the redemptive nature of the gospel.  It is a good book for the rational thinker, full of good information to counter a relativistic approach to Christianity.  Easy to read and informative.  I will probably read it again.  Someday.

Lit by Mary Karr.  I am reading this now.  I last read it over a year ago on the recommendation of Guy Choate, and I am so enjoying it the second time.  She has the most able command of language and she came from relatively nothing.  Two crazy, alcoholic parents in a South Texas oil-drilling town.  Sometimes her language is a little too colorful for me, but that’s rare.  She struggled with alcoholism, a divorce, single motherhood, supporting herself, a string of crazy friends, and finally she went from full-blown atheism to hard-core Catholicism.  I most look forward to revisiting how she was won over to the super-structuredness of Catholicism out of all the denominations. 

I want to say that I read something else, but maybe that’s really all.  I will look around in these stacks of books by my bed and see what I haven’t reported about.  And then I will get back to you.

2 Responses to “What I’m Reading”

  1. MCM March 24, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Claire,
    New discovery: Robert Benson. Add him to your stack if you get a chance.
    MC

  2. Kim Walvoord February 9, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

    It’s on my list! I am currently reading The Secret History by the same author, whom I noticed graduated from Ole Miss, (small world.) I wanted to recommend to you a quirky quick read – Caroline found at Square Books, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. You will enjoy it!! You have run enough times in the cemetery to relate……
    Glad to hear you and your gang are doing great!!! Miss you in our town!!

Leave a Reply

