common

15 Mar

Today was a good day.  I was afraid that I would oversleep without children to rouse me, but thankfully, I heeded the call of the electronic alarm clock in their absence.  I must say that my routine is so darn routine and mundane without any little chatterers in the backseat reminding me about boy scouts and ballet and lunch order forms and their narration homework and asking me what we’re going to do for supper (well, first, I am going to drop you off at school, and THEN I will think about supper.  In about 10 hours.).  I felt so lonely as I drove by their school.  There were no cars in the parking lot, no other parents for me to feel superior to for not being the very last one to drop off on a slow-starting Monday morning.  But there will be time for all that activity next week, when they return.

I met separately with two fascinating individuals today.  They had precisely one thing in common – love for and participation in the ROTC.  One was a teen-aged girl, a witness in a case that is set for jury trial next week.  The other was a 75 year-old man.  Their lives were so interesting, though they could not have been more different, but at the end of the day, I almost wished that I could have introduced them to each other.  I think each could have benefited from the friendship of the other.

Sometimes I wish that I could introduce all my friends to each other.  That my friends from childhood could know my friends from boarding school and college and law school, and adulthood.  I wish that my local girlfriends could know my schoolmates.  This is one of the hazards of growing up in rural Mississippi, attending boarding school on the east coast, college in the mountains of Tennessee, law school in your home state, and an entire adult life in San Angelo – Whereisthat?, Texas.  I wonder if they would all like each other.  Or if liking me is the only thing they would have in common?  That’s what is fun about facebook and now this blog.  You are my friends from all over the place – some of you I have never even met face to face, and some I haven’t seen in years, but you must have something in common – an appreciation for the offbeat observations of an old friend, a struggling mother, a beleaguered professional, a single girl trying to make sense of a past, present, and maybe even a future?

Are you like me?  Do you love books?  Or theology?  Or enduring truths?  Do you enjoy my quest for the perfect formulae to guarantee a solid marriage?  Do you just think it’s funny when someone has more animals than children?  Do the challenges I endure make you feel superior and enjoy your own life more?  It wouldn’t bother me if you said yes – I am aware that most people are superior to me in most ways.  Everybody else seems to manage “complicated” better than I do.

Is it possibly a voyeuristic thrill for you to observe our antics and adventures?  Are you fascinated to see what challenges in parenting-working-traveling-living will arise next?  And how we will weather them?  Is it my unusual  pared-down-in-electronic-amenities childhood?  Or my socially-pared-down adulthood?

Whatever it is that you have in common with me or with each other, I would like to know about it, so please leave me a comment.  I have a feeling we are going to be great friends.

Leave a Reply

