2010 in my rearview mirror

2 Jan

or as Robert Earl sings, “feels so good, feeling good again.” 

I have rediscovered a favorite author, Sue Monk Kidd.  She wrote a great book called The Secret Life of Bees.  They made a movie of it, but I haven’t seen it.  I never rent movies and I don’t know how to work on-demand and I rarely have two hours when I’m not busy, but if I ever do have that much time, I will at least re-read the book.  There is just so much wisdom, and as the narrator is a young girl, most of that wisdom is stated relatively innocently and straight-forwardly, so that even I can interpret it.

Here’s a favorite quotation:

The world will give you that once in awhile, a brief timeout; the boxing bell rings and you go to your corner, where somebody dabs mercy on your beat-up life.

2010 was a year of a lot of mercy and a lot of laughter, with not too many tears.  That’s compared to 2009 and years previous which had many more tears and lots less mercy.  2010 was so much fun and we celebrated its end and the approach of 2011 at the home of friends.  With gumbo and wine and much festivity.  And laughing ’til our faces hurt.  It was just the most fun night.

I have struggled with finding the perfect new year’s resolution.  There are about a million things I could stand to do better.  Here are a few:

1. get up earlier

2. stop interrupting

3. upload some photos onto this little journal

4. eat out less

5. exercise more

6. be outside more

7. spend less money

8. earn more money

9. appreciate my friends more

10. adopt fewer animals

11. be neater.  clean up more regularly

12. water the yard

13. read more to my children instead of making them read to each other

14. work on their homework with them before the morning it is due

15. get to work earlier

16. try more cases

17. give more time (aka years in the penitentiary) in my plea bargain offers

18. wash my face every night

19. walk more places

20. get out more

Any of these would be worthwhile.  But I think I am going to try to act on another of Sue Monk Kidd’s quotations from Secret Life of Bees:

Some things don’t matter much.  Like the color of a house.  How big is that in the overall scheme of life?  But lifting a person’s heart — now that matters.  The whole problem with people is they know what matters, but they don’t choose it.  The hardest thing on earth is choosing what matters.

4 Responses to “2010 in my rearview mirror”

  1. Tifani January 2, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Choosing what matters… I like that for a resolution.

  2. MCM January 2, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    C,
    I read the Secret Life after a schoolteacher friend told me it was the only book she ever took to class, couldn’t put down, and read while having her 3rd graders do busy work. Her recommendation was well-deserved and it is a remarkable book. Somehow, though, SMK fell off a cliff after that one, so you may be disillusioned if you read her later books. Maybe not.

    • brightenthecorner January 2, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      In reading about her I saw that she traded in Christianity for the notion of the sacred feminine. That cured me of wanting to read any more. But the Secret Life of Bees? So full of wisdom – I loved it. I will put some more lines from it out there later this month — there are more that are just as good. thanks MC.

  3. Shelly Lodes Ladden January 6, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    C,

    Sonya sent me a recent post from your blog and it has been nice to read through a few of your entries and re-introduce myself to all things I liked and still do about you. You have made me want to re-read Secret Life of Bees to look for the nuggets you found. I am reading a great book called Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder. Lots of nuggets in it as well. Such as, “God gives but doesn’t share.” …”God gives humans everything we need to flourish, but he’s not the one who’s supposed to divvy up the loot. That charge was laid upon us.” I am living in your home state of Mississippi and love it with only minor exceptions. Miss some of the great things about West Texas, however.

    I will read more on this little peep hole into your world and if you are this way and want to have a playdate with the kids, let me know. I have a five year old now.

    Shelly Ladden

Leave a Reply

