Thanksgiving B to Z

29 Nov

B is for bedtime.  We are all so tired.  It’s been a picture-perfect fall weekend, and each child has been outside for at least 6 or 8 hours every day.  That makes for great sleeping at night.

Cranberry relish.  And of course, the children.  (If I don’t list them individually, it’s because I have already been grateful collectively here – under C).

Downtime.  I was able to take a nap.  What a blessed day.

Eclairs.  I haven’t had one lately, but I am always thankful for them and I wish I had one now.

Facebook – which allowed me to grant my dad’s one wish of the entire weekend: to watch the Ole Miss – Mississippi State football game.  It seems like such a small request until you consider that I don’t have cable and my mom doesn’t have a TV in their condo.

Guy, Houston.  His Wall High School Hawks football team won their playoff game and will now be contenders in the state semi-finals.  Go Wall Hawks.  It must be difficult to have your entire life and career riding on the performance of a group of teen-aged boys, but at least these are a stellar group.  You should be very proud of yourself and your team (for making me care at all about football.)

Haircuts.  My dad could stand Henry’s crazy, flyaway hair no longer and loaded him up and took him out for a big-boy haircut.  He looks pretty adorable.  And we can actually see his face without all that wild hair.

Ice Cream.  They all let me nap while my parents took the big kids (all 3 of mine, including Joseph) out to Dairy Queen.  That was a great sacrifice on their part and I do appreciate it.

Joseph.  I heart him.  I don’t know what else to say about Wade’s best friend.  He just folds right into our family chaos and never presents so much as a tiny challenge. 

Kitty-cats.  have I mentioned that we have two?  Sushi and Gus.  We don’t see them often as they seem to have adopted themselves out to other families, but technically, they are part of our menagerie.

Love, a

Many Splendored Thing. (sorry, that was a stream of consciousness breaking through).

Nightmares about hunting season.  That’s all they are now – just bad dreams.  I am so thankful.

Odyssey minivans that never break down or fail to start.  Honda has made a true believer out of me.

Pansies and Snapdragons that now line the beds in front of our house.  They are so beautiful and add such flair to our little white and green cape cod-style house.  We are so happy here.

Quality of Life.  We have it in spades.

Readers of this blog.  So far only Mary Carol and Tifani have responded, and yet I know for a FACT that there are several of you out there reading.  

Shoes.  High heels, ballet flats, professional pumps, boots for all occasions.  I couldn’t pick a favorite.  That’s why it’s so good to have two closets.

Thanksgiving.  That’s right.  I am thankful for Thanksgiving.  My devoted parents braved the potential pat-downs and the full-body scans to travel on the two busiest travel days of the year, and said that if they if were bumped, they would give the vouchers to me.  How sweet was that?  If I hadn’t used “P” for pansies, I would have to say Parents.

Uniforms, school.  I love them.  I always have.  Back when I wore them at St. Timothy’s and now that my children do.  They are the best invention ever.

Violin-playing children.  I love that they are learning an instrument at school and i don’t have to drive them anywhere.  Besides, the violin is just such an elegant instrument.

Weather.  It has been the perfect fall weekend in San Angelo.  Last week it was summer, next week it will be winter.  I am so glad that autumn chose such a perfect weekend to show herself and her splendid colors.  I love her more since she only lasts a week or so.

Xenophobia.  It’s such a cool word.  It means a fear of outsiders and is most commonly used now in the context of immigration, but I think it would be great in a discussion of alienation and isolation.  We should have one.

Y’all.  For caring what I think.  Or just for reading because you don’t know what nutty thoughts I will have the audacity to broadcast next.

Zen.  To the extent that it means peaceful.

And to all a good night.

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving B to Z”

  1. Ann November 29, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I’m reading! 🙂 Love the A to Z of thankfulness… I might have to try that myself.

Leave a Reply

