Why I write and why I run

7 Nov

Oh look, Mary Carol!  All my concern about being too tranquil and blissed-out was for nothing.  Luckily for my interesting-ness, the absence of angst was but a temporary condition!  Now I shall have to see if I can find a way to channel it for the good.

So far the answer is a resounding YES.  I have been on at least two walks every day this week.  Several of those walks have been along the beautiful Gun Club road aka the KOA.  It’s a 2 mile loop that overlooks Lake Nasworthy and is a challenge with its constant hills and ridges.  It’s also very gratifying to walk the road and run up the hills.  It hurts your legs and your lungs and when you’re finished, you just feel so relieved and worn out.  And your legs will surely start to show the contours of seldom-used muscles from the uphill sprints.  I can’t think of a single negative about having pretty legs.

The other walk is the ordinary, daily cemetery walk with the dogs.  They enjoy it so much.  I look like a New York City dogwalker on the way over with such a motley assortment of unruly hounds, but it is the highlight of their day, and I am driven to fit it in.  I am tormented by guilt if they don’t get in a good romp.

So the walking and running are helping with the overactive nerves.  Writing about all the chaos and craziness of my life helps with the angst.  It makes me laugh at myself, and if it makes you laugh at all, then I feel in some small way valuable to the world.

5 Responses to “Why I write and why I run”

  1. MCM November 8, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Claire,
    Bravo, you’ve nailed it.
    Thoughts on dogs and walking: Augustine of Hippo (who should be a saint for no other reason than the name) wrote something along the lines of “Solvitur Ambulando” or “It is solved by walking.” And it usually is, no matter what “it” is. And despite the small brown terrier purists in this extended community, true contentment is found in a herd of muddy, unruly, DNA-tangled mutts who smile at you in the cemetery (or, in our case, on the turnrows). If you take care of your castoff dogs, your children will grow up to be kind, if not necessarily organized.

    Thoughts on writing: If words build up inside you to the point that they have to tumble out onto a page or a blog, you’re just doomed to do it. And please keep doing it, because you have a gift for words that is very rare.

    • brightenthecorner November 9, 2010 at 12:12 am #

      You’ll have to ask Mary Rose about the walking kindergarten they had in Germany. That would be the only way that I could homeschool. I actually love that idea.

      Yes, I am in trouble with my writing. For a long time I have known that writing is cathartic for me – I can’t move on until I have emptied some of the words building up inside. And it’s usually better if they end up between the burning logs of a fireplace (as Miss Manners recommends), but here we are. Apparently I have a gift for the emotional hemorrhage.

      • MCM November 9, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

        Not so. I haven’t seen an “emotional hemorrhage” yet in these blogs, and none that should have been relegated to the fireplace (well, maybe some about shoes and hairstyles, but that’s just me, L.L. Bean’s best customer….). Rather than hemorrhaging, you’re just shedding some of the leeches that were causing a slow exsanguination. Write on.

      • brightenthecorner November 9, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

        As with most of my eccentricities, I blame my mother for the fixation on shoes and hair.

  2. MCM November 9, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    I’m not touching that one. Wise writers know when to leave a topic alone.

Leave a Reply

