Do these boots say “Texas Independence?”

5 Nov

Shoes determine one’s attitude. 

This is an eternal truth.

One’s attitude determines one’s actions.  Also a known fact.

This is why I needed some bad-a$$ cowboy boots.  It’s not very ladylike to curse in one’s blog, but being ladylike only goes so far (in my experience), and sometimes you need some “made for walking” cowboy boots.  Especially if you have just agreed in writing to live the rest of your natural life in Texas. 

One pair should be weathered brown leather with beautiful blue, pink, green and red embroidered flowers and designs.  They say “I am sweet and pretty and feminine, but if I have to, I can kick your, well – you know.”  They might also say “I keep a getaway horse fully tacked and ready to ride off into the sunset, should it become necessary.  or even just desirable”

The second pair should be dressy and slick.  In patent leather, maybe.  Black and shiny.  These say “you can take me anywhere and heads will turn.”  They can be worn with a cocktail dress and a cascade of pearls.  Maybe even some patterned tights.  Or fishnets.  Which aren’t just for streetwalkers anymore.  They are even sold at Target and everyone knows that Target is a high-end discount store.  No hose for hos at Le Tarzhay.

I think it’s time I settle into being fully Texan and tough.  By way of Mississippi, which explains my softer, sweeter side.  Luckily, these two pairs of attitude encompass it all.

3 Responses to “Do these boots say “Texas Independence?””

  1. Esmeralda November 5, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Come to Austin and let’s go cowboy boot shopping!
    Though I have two pairs (a black patent leather and a brown leather pair), I’ve decided a Texas girl can never have too many pairs of boots!! :

  2. Tara November 6, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    Whether by choice or legally binding agreement, we’re glad you’re here. Welcome home. Now go kick some….nevermind.

  3. Tifani November 11, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I saw this giveaway today and thought of you!!

    http://krameymartinreviews.blogspot.com/2010/11/langstons-giveaway-win-boots.html

Leave a Reply

