standing ovation

2 Nov

1. to me for taking down my Halloween decorations today.  It was all I could do not to take them down last night.  I just didn’t want to break the children’s hearts any more than I already have.  And unbeknownst to them, will again.

I am used to be the kind of person who loves to put the decorations out and can’t ever find the motivation to undo the task when the holiday is over.  But Halloween doesn’t lend itself to the transition.  Thanksgiving and Autumn can linger a little.  And everyone expects the Christmas festivity to last through New Year’s Day.  (well, everyone except Mary Rose.  It’s a big year when we even decorate the little potted fir tree.  any boxes, bows or bells are O-U-T on the curb before the sun sets on the anniversary of our saviour’s birth.)  But candy corns, spider webs and jack-o-lanterns are a limited commodity, so all that remains is the candy and the little black spider rings that  scare me as I see them all over the house.

2. to Carmen for compiling her own list of what it takes to date me.  She and James are hereby designated the official pre-screeners.  She does not fool around where my future is concerned, as she has had a front-row seat to the aftereffects, and I am glad of her care.

She is used to looking out for the best interests of people who may not be in a position to see what’s best for them, thanks to representing numerous children in CPS cases as an attorney ad litem.  No one takes their duties more seriously than she – to the children of our community and me.   I am very lucky.

3. to Pandora for setting up a radio station for me that plays only the best radio hits of 90’s pop-country like Randy Travis and George Strait and Garth Brooks.  Today I heard “Life’s a Dance – you learn as you go – sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow.  Don’t worry ’bout what you don’t know, life’s a dance you learn as you go.”

Is it possible for something to be lite and trite and enduringly wise all at the same time?  I think so.  Viva 1990’s country.

One Response to “standing ovation”

  1. Esmeralda November 4, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    You have your 1990’s country and Mary Ellen has her 1980’s soft rock!

Leave a Reply

