At your Service

16 Aug

If I could market this skill, I would be rich.

At some point in the near-distant past, I observed a friend saddened and frustrated over a quarrel with her husband, which now seemed destined to ruin the rest of the day as they had left each other with a mutual “well, okay, FINE THEN,”  as they parted ways.  My friend was so irritated with him and his selfish ways that she had almost decided to get a hotel room for herself to avoid having to speak to him for the rest of the day.  Unfortunately, she needed him to help her move a large and heavy piece of furniture.

He had already sent her a text message apologizing for his rash statements and selfish behavior, but she couldn’t bring herself to forgive him or even communicate with him. But she needed him for this errand.  What to do?

This is where I put my considerable skills in technology and apologizing to use.  I simply took her phone, typed out a loving and heartfelt apology in response and asked ever-so-sweetly if we could just have a do-over on this morning and make a fresh start of the weekend?  Posing as her, of course.  That way, she didn’t re-ignite the smoldering fury that threatened their union as it hovered just below the surface.

You see, I had nothing invested, no sarcasm, no anger, no hostility, nothing but good wishes for this fellow and his wife.  I have been married, so I know all about arguments.  Especially arguments about Saturdays and free time and children and errands and heavy furniture-lifting and who-does-more.  Those can get out of hand quickly.  It would be unreasonable to expect my lovely friend to warm back up to her spouse after such an insulting argument, but I? I was able to be sweet and conciliatory.

I am happy to report that all is once again rosy in their marital home, and the big piece of furniture was safely transported.  I should be paid for this.

2 Responses to “At your Service”

  1. dad August 16, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    What to call this skill, when you list it? Certainly valuable. A new career direction?

    Maybe…MARITAL SPAT INTERVENTIONS, INC.

Leave a Reply

